La Birmanie Myanmar


Burma or Myanmar is a continental Southeast Asian country with a common border with Bangladesh, China, India, Laos and Thailand. It is bordered by the Andaman Sea to the south and the Bay of Bengal to the southwest, with about 2,000 kilometers of coastline in total.
The country has known since 1962 a series of military dictatorships. From 1988 to 2011, Burma was officially headed by the State Council for Peace and Development. This junta officially left the place in 2011 to a civil power headed by one of its former members, but the weight of the military hierarchy remains preponderant in the facts. The relative liberalization of the country which has since been confirmed has led the European Union and the United States to suspend or lift in April and September 2012 the embargo they imposed on the country since the 1990s, Weapons.

Burma is the largest state in continental Southeast Asia. It comprises a long central plain, where the majority of the population lives, and its widest part does not exceed 960 km. This plain is lined with mountainous areas, so to the west, the chain of the Arakan.
The region of the interior, which is organized around the Mandalay basin where converge Irrawaddy and Chindwin and where the Sittang emerges, is known as Upper Burma, the historical heart of the country. The coastal region (the alluvial zone of the Irrawaddy Delta and the Sittang Plain), bordered by numerous islands, is known as Lower Burma. In the peripheral, mountainous regions, the forest dominates.

A question?  Contact Us